Jesus Camp?

Today I watched a disturbing film on A&E titled “Jesus Camp”. This documentary focused on Evangelical Christians through examining a camp built by Pentecostals in North Dakota. It followed the lives of three children before, during and after this time at camp and the hardest part for me was finding that I wasn’t shocked by their behavior. It didn’t surprise me in the least that one boy’s homeschool mother taught him that a school system where evolutionist’s are considered “stupid” would be a good thing. (I’m the only one who finds that hypocritical?) It didn’t surprise me that one girl said she didn’t listen to Britney Spears or Lindsay Lohan because their songs focused on guys or girls and she “didn’t believe in that stuff”. How do you not believe in guy/girl relationships? Was she gay? She didn’t look more than 10 or 11 years old and shouldn’t have been expected to explain something like that! One child claimed he became a Christian at five years old because “he just wanted something more.” More than what? What could you possibly be lacking at five years old? The first time I prayed what is called the “salvation prayer” I, also, was five. You know why I did it? Because I figured I’d have to someday, so why not just get it over with?

Jesus said that we all should become like little children. Although I am not denying that parents should train their children, as it says in the Bible, I wonder how much more we’d learn if we let the children teach us, instead of brainwashing them.
I don’t like seeing children sobbing out of guilt due to a sermon, I don’t like to see children told to hamper their imagination to something “appropriate”, I especially don’t like to see children convulsing on the floor. What I DO like to see is children smiling, laughing, singing, skipping, dancing, giving hugs and many other things that fall in line with being joyful. I believe that the JOY of the Lord is our strength. If you are a Christian you should feel ecstatically happy and free. Honestly, the best part of this film was that “Spirit in the Sky” by Norman Greenbaum played during the credits. (I love that song! :D)
To watch the trailer for this movie, click here: http://http//www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_EKHK1C2IE
To see how non-Christians have been given more ammo, thanks to this atrocity, check out this link, by Bill Maher:
Please know this: not all Christians are fundamental radicals. You hear them all the time because, as they say, ‘the squeaky wheel always gets the grease.’ Truly, for every one Christian you see picketing, rioting, etc., there are hundreds more who live nice, quiet lives and would never push their beleifs on you or treat you with anything less than the respect they give anyone else. I know this is shocking, but–God forbid–if you found us you might even LIKE us.
JOY to all,
Em
One Response

  1. I think it is a beautiful thing that that girl can remain pure from the corrupt media. In the bible it says “your eyes and ears are the windows to your souls”. So she is very wise to not listen to that.

    I excepted the Lord at age six. Not because “I wanted something more”, but because the Lord gave me a realization that there IS something more. God comes to different people in different ways. Faith like a child.

    And i guarentee you that their parents are learning more from the children, then the children are from the parents.

    I have been to conferences where people and children are “convulsing”. And you know what? THOSE CONFERENCES HAVE CHANGED MY LIFE. There, i have seen the blind see, the def hear, lame walk, and much more.

    Lastly, the JOY part. Yes, one of the fruits of the spirit is JOY. But in Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 it explains that there is a time for everything. In verse 4 it says, “a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance,”.—- “There is a time for everything, and a season for ever activity under heaven.”

    GOD BLESS YOU!!!!

    Lord, I pray and thank you for this person. I thank you that you love them with an unconditional love. I pray that you would search and transform there life. Lord, give them revelation! Give them dreams and visions! Lord thank you!
    In Jesus Name,
    Amen

Leave a Reply

