My thoughts on the New Year

For my first entry in 2008–which will be a milestone year for me–I am going to share with you clippings from today’s entry in my journal. This is what is on my heart about the New Year but I struggle telling the same thing twice, so I figured it’d be easier this way.

Tuesday, January 1st, 2008
It’s finally here. After much longing and impatient waiting, 2008 has arrived. This is the year I will graduate. This year I will shake the dust from my feet at the High School door. This is also the year I will start college. I will finally spread my wings and begin the long-sought journey to becoming a writer. I have had the question posed at me about how can a college teach me to write any more than I already can. After all, don’t you learn to write by writing? They are 100% correct. No one needs to be trained as a writer to be published, as one does to be, say a nurse or a pilot. Many authors, in fact, have degrees behind them that have nothing to do with the Arts at all. So, why I am I bothering? I look at it less like an education and more like a tutorship. Going to school will give me the discipline I need to meet deadlines plus give my work the opportunity to be polished by those who have mastered our unique trade. I have been fortunate enough to find a school that has a field specifically for Creative Writing, not just general English. At Minnesota State University Moorhead, I could even get my Masters in it, if I so choose.

. . .So, I go into this year with high hopes. I read in Robin Lee Hatcher’s newsletter (she’s a Christian author) that every year at this time she asks God to give her a special word for the coming year (sometimes He’s given her two). I really liked that idea. Something to meditate and focus on throughout the year; something to pick yourself up with on the bad days; a reminder from God that He’s with you. It’s kind of like a theme for the coming year. So I’ve been praying for either a word or a phrase from God. The only thing that’s come close (through a dream of eating Frosted Flakes and my meditating on the beauty of the crystal snow) was the word “frosty”. 🙂 Ya, great word, don’t you think? Maybe this year is supposed to be a bad one. But I rather doubt it. . . so I think I’ll keep listening for another word.

In 2008
I graduate!
(HURRAY!)
Maybe I should have a theme song for the year, too. Maybe I should do that old “Trees of the Field” song: “You shall go out with joy . . .” That’s actually from a Bible verse. When [a friend] and I were travelling, doing our camp promo, [a lady] asked us if we had found a “life verse” yet. I could only tell her my favorite verse, Hebrews 13:6
“So we may boldly say: the LORD is my Helper, I will not fear.
What can man do to me?”
[My friend] and I discuss what she said once in awhile and ask if the other has found a life verse yet. Maybe God will reveal mine in 2008. After all, this year I’m making a lot of life-altering decisions. It might be nice to have a life verse to fall back on!
You’ll have to excuse the grammar errors and writing problems. A journal isn’t something I go over and write a final draft on, so it’s a ‘what you see is what you get’ kind of thing. For those of you who’d like to check out the author I mentioned, her website is http://www.robinleehatcher.com/
Blessings for the coming year,
Emily
Leave a Reply

