Test your literacy!

I had to take a difficult vocabulary test in English today.  Now, I love words.  I adore them!  But sometimes I have to admit: we do live in the 21st century.  We have to talk in the form of our culture!

I decided to write a short paragraph using some of the words that I’ve had in this class over the year.  I’m pretty sure Jane Austen was the last to use some of these!  But they certainly make this mini-story more lyrical. 

Some of the words you should know.  I had to include them to make the story actually “work”.  But others . . . let’s just say, if you really know every word, you need to get a life!   😉

I’ll post a comment with the definitions of the words, for those of you who are especially curious.

One warning: I’m not claiming to have used every word in the exact form it was supposed to be in.  I hope I did, but no promises.  Enjoy!

 Egregious.  That described her customer perfectly.  She may have come to that conclusion arbitrarily, but the way he exacerbated her only corroborated her opinion.  His figure revealed his belief against abstemious habits–nay, more than just against.  His large belly shouted that he found it to be a complete anathema!  It certainly proved he was not wanting!  Yes, she was a shrewd clerk!  Sitting at her desk all day at her sinecure meant judgement for certain ilk imminent!  Oh, how she wanted to castigate him after his attack on her, a paragon.  How dare he? He gesticulated and then began to inveigh her character.  She was a phlegmatic secretary, he declaimed in caustic humor.  But she was inexorable in her position: she would not recant and importune her boss for him.  In vain she told him his idea inane and attempted to convince him to return to his domicile.  But her megalomania quelled when she elicitted from the man more information.  He stymied her silent diatribe when he finally embellished his story.  What he had formerly called “lugubrious circumstances” for needing the loan, he now confessed.  His wife had cancer. 

6 Responses

  1. Egregious: remarkably bad
    Arbitrary: based on a whim, dictatorial
    Exacerbate: to irritate, make worse
    Corroborate: Confirm, support
    Abstemious: moderate in eating or drinking
    Anathema: Something greatly detested
    Sinecure: soft job
    Ilk: kind
    Castigate: correct by punishing
    Paragon: model of excellence
    Gesticulated: to move the arms energetically
    inveigh: attack
    Phlegmatic: hard to rouse to action
    Declaim: to speak loudly, inveigh
    Caustic: sarcastic, biting
    Inexorable: inflexible, unrelenting
    importune: ask urgently
    Inane: foolish
    Domicile: home
    Megalomania: abnormal desire for wealth and power
    Elicit: to draw forth
    Stymie: to hinder or impede
    Diatribe: bitter criticism
    Embellish: adorn, to touch up
    Lugubrious: very sad

  2. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Jason Rakowski

  3. Most of them I knew. Only missed five. I might be smarter than a Fifth Grader!!!!!! (Thank God for spell check, I mis-spelled fifth!!)

  4. lol. Which five? C’mon, now…you have to confess! 🙂

  5. Abstemious, Paragon, inveigh, Sinecure and importune. By the way, what did you get on the test?

  6. I don’t know yet. I will let you know when I get the test back. (and my teacher is slooooooow at getting her tests graded!)

Leave a Reply

