Decisions, decisions

I was talking to a dear mentor of mine today and she said something that struck a chord in me.  This is what she says about what can happen to us with church:

You get there, and you just walk up the steps,  Then you walk down the steps, and you think ‘well, maybe it’ll be better next week.’

Is that you?  It certainly is me.  You go with the best of intentions to actually listen to the sermon this time . . . and then he starts rambling about the same stuff you’ve heard a million times over and suddenly that bird hopping about in the grass right outside the window becomes fascinating!  Then, before you know it, everyone is standing and you realize you could have gotten better spiritual food by staying home and watching episodes of The Office.

So, what’s a girl to do?  That I can’t answer, it’s kind of up to every individual, but I came across this post while searching for answers from God to another problem I’m having.  And let me tell you, this beats watching birds!  I’ve always been big on prayer, and this pastor, named Pete, sums up what it is I need to do.  So, I’m going to give it a shot.  Maybe it’ll change my spiritual attitude.

About a week ago I posted this entry on a book I’d recently read.  In it, the character continues an on-going, chant-like prayer.  “Help me”, she says over and over and over throughout the book  Well, Pete says to do a similar thing, only his prayer is going to be, “guide me”.  That’s mine, too.  I found out I have two conficting missions this summer that I can be involved in and don’t know which to choose.  I’m torn and have spent tears and angry frustration trying to decide what to do.  There isn’t really a “right” or “wrong” here.  There isn’t one ministry that’s better than another, but I know there is one place God want me. . . where?  Why, out of the three months of summer, would these two conflict?  What is the reason for God wanting me at one, but not another?  What is He trying to teach me through this difficult decision?

God, guide me.

However, I also scrolled down Pete’s blog to this post about Christian group Selah’s Todd Smith and his family.  If you are going through any kind of difficulty, I recommend taking the half hour and watching the video he posted.  It uplifts and encourages, it comforts and strengthens, and it reminds us of so much!  

This decision is tough for me, but there is so much out there that is more devastating.  I really have no right to complain. 

Blessings,

Emily

Leave a Reply

