Gone with the Wind

I am fully engrossed right now in the book Gone with the Wind.  I’d never read it before and it’s been so long since I’d watched the movie that I felt the need to pick it up.  Right now I’m at the part where Scarlett is trying to seduce Frank.  I think it’s one of the worst points in the story.  The book is so long and slow that I’d rather she skip the “Frank” years and jump right into Rhett, which is the hero everyone wants to read about, anyway.  Plus, it’s just disgusting.  Frank is old and gross, not to mention her sister’s beau.  Ya, it should have gotten cut, along with the first 100 pages of the book.  Although, now that the war is over, I understand more about why the beginning was necessary.  I feel like I actually know the Tarleton twins and am devastated about their death.  It really does bring more reality to it.

It’s been interesting for me to compare classic literature with modern this whole past year.  Because of my college literature class, I’ve started reading a lot more of the classics (I’m a huge Jane Austen fan!).  Although literature is slow and hard to read, there’s a depth to it that modern authors are missing.  I kind of look at literature as an onion.  No one wants to read them, because they’re so potent, but those who dare to pick them up can peel layer after layer off, always finding new things. 

But back to Gone with the Wind.  Another interesting comparison I’ve been doing is comparing the Civil War with the one we are presently fighting in Iraq.  Although there are very few similarities, pieces of the book really make you stop and think.  Freedom of slaves vs. Freedom from Terrorist Monarchies.  What about Cotton vs. Oil?   Moreso, however, it’s the attitudes that catch me.  People said that those speaking against the war should be hung.  If you were not supporting the Cause, you were looked down on, ostracized by society.  They knew that without the full support and morale of their people, they’d lose.  And they did. 

Can you imagine if people still thought like that today?  Would are war in Iraq be different?  Better or worse?  Would it be over by now? 

I support the War in Iraq.  But it’s been very refreshing to read a book through the eyes of people who did not support their war and were criticized for it, much as I tend to criticize those like that today.  I love my country, and one thing I love is the freedoms we have.  Although it shames me to see how our media is being used so loudly against supporting this war and I’m embarrassed at how simpleminded Americans must be to just believe everything they hear from YouTube and liberal talk shows/news broadcasts.  BUT this is a free country, and that includes freedom of the press.  If they’d had our technology back during the civil war, could lives have been saved?  Could disbelievers have been given a louder speakerphone to get the word out that their battle was going to be a lost cause? 

I don’t know.  But I love the Civil War time period and all it entails.  History happened just as it did.  We can’t change it, instead we can learn from it.  And, just to throw this out there, I think the Civil War was a good thing.  I think it was necessary.  I don’t see our country being as advanced as it is today without it.  I think we’d have made gradual changes over time in the right direction, but that war made a faster and immediate change and set our beliefs of right and wrong in writing.

I understand how awful it was, as well as the Reconstruction.  I don’t understand certain things, like the Ku Klux Klan and how there are still some existing today.  That is ridiculous.  I wish we had permission to just shoot them all.  🙂   Ok, that was a joke. . . kinda.  🙂  

Anyway, Gone with the Wind is fascinating, if you have time to read it. 

Leave a Reply

