Peace, Bob

Are any of you like me in that you absolutely LOVE pulling off old books from your bookshelves and re-reading them?  I did that tonight with a spiritual book.  I read it about a year ago and it’s amazing.  Releasing the Rivers Within by Dwight Edwards is a great book that I totally recommend.  I met Dwight when he spoke up at the Bible Camp I was working at last year and let me tell you–he’s an amazing man.  There are very few people in the ministry that I sincerely like–especially “big name” people–but Dwight happens to be one of them.  I believe that God is truly working through him!

Anyway, I was going over all the highlighted parts that had meant so much to me the first time through and I found this letter he’d talked about.  This is a letter that was found by a man who was attending a Men’s Retreat with his church.  The letter had been placed in the man’s bed from someone in a preceeding group who attended the retreat.  This is amazing and I feel every Christian needs to read it!

Observations of a skeptic.  I don’t want to be told that God loves me or that Jesus loves me.  I want to feel that the people who call themselves “Christian” love me.  Then perhaps I can realize the love of God and the love of Christ.  I don’t want to be told about the love of God and then find eyes averted when I look straight at a Christian.

I want to see God’s love in eyes that are unafraid to look into mine, eyes that shine from a soul that is sincere.  I want to experience God’s love through a smile that says, “I love you, I accept you right where you are.  I want genuinely to be your friend, now and when we leave this retreat place.”  Then maybe I can begin to believe in that love from God through this strange Christ that Christians talk so much about.  And if I believe, then perhaps I too can live in love and give it to others.  And, you know, I think I did find some of God’s love here this weekend.  Be ready on your retreat to receive it, and be ready to give it.

Peace,
Bob

Is that not amazing?

Peace,
Emily

Leave a Reply

