Aaachoo!

I have a cold.  It’s the middle of SUMMER and I have a COLD.  Isn’t there something wrong with that??  Well, let me at least explain WHY have this.

I’ve been going to bed at 11:30 and getting up at 6:30 every day this week. 

Now, I know that’s not bad.  It’s averaging about 7 hours of sleep (okay, less.  I don’t fall asleep right, exactly at 11:30.  It’s usually midnight to 12:30.)  Despite that, my body seems to be rebelling the change in patterns.  But I don’t really have a choice.  I HAVE to do it this way.  Here’s why:

I’m making a big video for the Bible camp I work at.  On Sunday we have the end-of-summer celebration and my job, as Media Director, is to take the footage I’ve gathered from all summer and put together a 10-15 minute show.  It’s putsy and time consuming.  Something always goes wrong that you have to go out of your way to fix.  Computers never work (especially for me.   I’m using an ancient Acer that the camp had on-hand, since mine is still getting fixed.)

I call it my “harvest”.  My dad, as a farmer, is manager of his own time.  There’s always something that can be done or needs fixing on the farm (just like me all summer with media, always something to do.)  However, he’s also in control of his own time.  So, when someone has a doctors appointment or something, he can easily do his work later.  He’s not controlled.

Then comes harvest.  They haven’t gotten into the full swing of cutting grain, yet, (I can’t wait!) but when they do he will be getting up around 5-5:30 (before the sun) and won’t be home till the dew starts coming out.  As farmers, they have to make use of every ounce of time they have.

I need to get this video done.  To do so (because I’m prepared for problems) I need to make use of every ounce of my time.  I leave for camp tomorrow, and my goal is to be done with the video by then.

So, basically, I only have today to do it.  So, I’d better get to it (sick and all).  🙂   Wish me luck!

Sneezing, 
Em

Leave a Reply

