highlights

Have you ever been going through the normal routine of your day, only to have something unexpected happen that brings a big smile to your face?  I call these moments highlights of life.  I had a “highlight” yesterday.

I was at my grandparents house, watching my great-grandmother, who lives with them while they went shopping.  Later in the evening, one of my grandmother’s relatives from far-off Kentucky called her.  It turns out I knew this lady.  She and her sister had come to visit years ago, when I was eight years old and she brought her young grandson (who is my age) with her.  That summer holds some of my dearest memories.  Although they were only here a couple weeks, that boy became one of my dearest playmates.  We even attempted to be penpals for awhile.  I couldn’t believe she was on the phone!  We talked for several minutes, catching up.  Conversation flowed so easily and was just plain FUN. 

Little things like that make my day.  In fact, that particular one was so special, it may have made my entire Christmas vacation!

What “highlights” have happened to you lately??

Leave a Reply

