um…woops

Today is sunday.  Its the 3rd of May.  Mother’s Day is just around the corner.

Except for my mother. 

Let me explain.  My roommate and I were talking last week and one of those cheesy mothers-day-commercials played on the radio.  Shocked, I asked, “Oh! Is Mother’s Day this sunday already?”

“Ya,” my roommate answered. 

So what do I do?   With complete trust in her, I buy one of those sentimental cards that says flowery, uplifting things.  On Friday, I was bus running errands, but I made sure to get that card in the mail!  I didn’t want to be late!

Friday evening I was talking with my cousin and I mentioned to her that mother’s day was this weekend.  She was shocked.  “Are you sure?” she asked.

So I finally looked at the calendar.  My heart sank.

“Oh no!” I exclaimed. 

Mother’s Day is next sunday…May 10.  But I had already placed my mother’s card in the mail.

It turns out that, because my roommate had a family celebration this weekend, they decided to celebrate Mother’s Day today, since the whole family was around.  My roommate misinterpreted this as being the actual mother’s day.

I thought of making up a story for my mom about finals keeping me so busy that I purposely gave her her card early, before they started.  I didn’t tell her it, tho.  The true story was too funny. 

So she got a good laugh and an early Mother’s Day card.  

Not sure how I’m going to make up for this boo-boo, though…

One Response

  1. This is for MOMS ONLY! Don’t watch this with your kids, but it’s hilarious!
    MILF by Katie Goodman
    http://katiegoodman1.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

