Arlington

I am not sure why the government felt it necessary to move Memorial Day to a Monday as an “Observation of Memorial Day.”  They may have had a noble, necessary reason or, like lazy politicians, they may have just wanted to make sure they got a day off of work for it.  Whatever the case, I don’t mind reflecting on this day more than once.  Really, remembering America’s fallen soldiers should be done everyday.  For this blog, however, I have decided to dedicate now through Saturday as Memorial Week.  Honoring our veterans and showing patriotism are both very important to me.

In 2006, when I was a sophomore, my High School took a trip to Washington D.C.  I saw some amazing things, but I think my favorite place was Arlington National Cemetery.   If you’re a history buff, you know all about this historic American site and how it came to be home to America’s greatest fallen heroes.  If you don’t know this story, please read it here.  It is worth your time.  If you ever want to see how something so unfathomly devastating can  be turned to good, this is a story for you.  I can’t imagine having to flee your house in the middle of the peril of war, especially a house with so many memories and such a rich history.  Yet now?  It is the epitome of Americanism, one of the most treasured places on our land. 

I thought I’d share some Arlington pictures from my trip.  These are pictures of the Unknown Soldiers.  There is a monument dedicated to them that is guarded 24/7 365 days a year.  (The second picture is of this said guard switching off.)  It was amazing to see the dedicated soldier spend hours marching back and forth for someone he doesn’t know–that no one knows.  This monument houses four unknown soldiers (one from each World War, one from Korea and one from Vietnam) to represent the nearly 5,000 unknown soldiers now buried at this place.  The other small, white tombstones are different angles of the Unknown Cemetery markers.  You probably can’t see it, due to the distance and size of the pictures, but each grave bears only a single number.  Image fighting and dying for your country only to be buried as a number?

100_1046100_1074100_1067

100_1068100_1057100_1060

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The following is one of my favorite songs.  When Trace Adkins first came out with it, a few years back, the song immediately was  a hit.  However, it also was very emotional for those whose family members were currently fighting.  In respect to them, Trace moved up the release for his next single so the song “Arlington” could be taken off-air.  I respect him even more for that.  Because of that decision, I could not embedd the official music video for the song here.  Instead, I found a slide-show someone had put together, using the song.  You can, however, find the official video on You Tube if you look for it.

Remembering,
Em

Leave a Reply

