Jett Travolta dies

jett-travoltaJett Travolta, 16 year old son of John Travolta and Kelly Preston, has died.  The boy apparently had a seizure, resulting in him hitting his head on the bathtub.  This happened while the family was vacationing in the Bahamas. 

What a terrible tragedy.  I don’t follow a lot of movies/television series, since I’m more of a book worm, but I am a fan of both of this kid’s parents.  Travolta, of course, from Greese–one of the greatest movies ever.  And I was impressed with Preston’s work in the western Broken Bridges with Toby Keith.  My heart goes out to this family.  They have another child, a girl, who is only eight years old.  How tragic for her to lose her big brother when so young! 

Preston is a huge children’s right’s activist and has been acknowledged as being an excellent mother, very active raising her kids and balancing her schedule between them and her career.  In an interview, she acknowledged that Travolta is a great dad, very supportive and present in the kids’ lives.  It breaks my heart that, of all the hollywood couples who have children, the one family that seem to care and stick together are the ones who lost their child.  Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t wish this tragedy on anyone, but so often today the kid’s of famous stars are neglected and have issues because their parents didn’t care.  It all comes back to the age-old question, Why do bad things happen to good people.

John Travolta with son, Jett

John Travolta with son, Jett

 The truth is, I guess, that bad things don’t just happen to good or bad people, they just happen to people.  How you live your life will not prevent or cause harm to come to you.  We should draw comfort from that, really.  But when things like this happen, you wish that it did matter.  That you could earn it.  I think it’s because that would give us a sense of power.  It would take away the helpless feeling.  It would also enable us to cast blame.

Losing a child can either bring a couple closer together or draw a irreparable rift between them.  I hope that one of Hollywoods best couples is not drawn apart by this tragedy.  Too many divorces have inserted themselves into the lives of the rich and famous.  May Travolta and Preston learn to draw strength and comfort from each other!

2 Responses

  1. I thought this was sad myself.

  2. […] tragedy, this woman already suffered through the death of her son Jett in 2009, something no parent should ever have to experience. But then to lose her own life too soon to this […]

Leave a comment